Turkish Education System

According to the Constitution of the Republic of Turkey, every citizen has the right to education which is free of charge for the compulsory primary education. Except in specially licensed and foreign institutions, Turkish must be taught as the mother tongue. Since 2012, twelve years of education is compulsary for boys and girls, which can be divided into 4+4+4 years of schooling.  The Turkish National Educational System is composed of two main sections: Formal Education and Non-formal Education. Formal education is the regular education of individuals in a certain age group and given in schools. This includes Pre-Primary education, Primary education, Secondary education and Higher education institutions. Non-formal education in Turkey is offered by a network of training centers who are supervised by the Ministry of National Education (MEB).

Download PDF

Turkey Education System .docx